ILSP Awards

The International Learn to Swim Programme aims to provide a complete progressive aquatic pathway for learners of all ages to progress from their first aquatic experiences through to becoming safe proficient swimmers.

The scheme aims to build on knowledge and skill development at each level and reward achievement through a range of exciting awards and certificates.

Are you a qualified swimming teacher looking for more information? Take our free ILSP Assessment Standards online programme to learn about the programme, its progression pathway and the assessment standards for its awards.


Baby Water Safety

An innovative series of six progressive awards designed to introduce babies to a water adventure where confidence and safety skills are introduced.

STAnley Series

First Steps

An exciting series of seven progressive awards designed to teach learners from 2 years basic swimming and water safety skills.

Octopus Series

An exciting series of 3 progressive awards specifically designed for children aged between 5 to 8 years old.

Goldfish Series

This programme is designed to be the next stage for swimmers who have progressed through either the STAnley First Steps Series or Octopus Series.

Angelfish Series

Prepares swimmers to swim 25m without aid, perform butterfly stroke as well as mastering sculling techniques and entries to the water.

Shark Series

This series educates swimmers in basic water rescue and survival techniques as well as starts and turns for each of the strokes.

Advanced Swimmer Series

Consisting of three levels, this series develops swimming technique, speed, stamina and water polo or synchronised swimming skills.

Platinum Award

The pinnacle of the ILSP, combining survival and rescue skills with advanced swimming skills, water polo and synchronised swimming.