STA Name Aquatic Excellence Award Finalists for 2023

STA has revealed today all the finalists for the association’s inaugural Aquatic Excellence Awards, which have been created to celebrate and showcase the achievements of all those involved in delivering learn to swim programmes and aquatics training over the last 12 months, in line with STA’s charity objectives.

Nominations came from individuals and companies working in the UK and internationally, and in both the public and private sectors, reflecting the scale of STA’s membership.

Check below to see the full list of our 2023 STAr finalists.

STAr Swimming Teacher

  • Cole Weber – Swimmatix
  • Julie Young – Nuffield Health
  • Leanne Kennedy – SNAPS
  • Margaret Cawley – AET Swim School
  • Matthew Di Rosa – Swimtime, Lancashire

STAr Tutor

  • Carleen Whipp – Virgin Active
  • Cheryl Pottinger – GLL
  • Chris Bateman – CB Training
  • Joanna Wood – Turtle Tots
  • Shelly Whitehead – Half Fish Training
  • Sue Dunn – Oakleigh Park School

STAr Swim School Provider – UK

  • Aberdeen Swimming Academy
  • Adams Aquatics
  • In at the Deep End
  • Individuality Swimming
  • Merbabies
  • Swim with Style, Telford

STAr Swim School Provider – International

  • Bumps to Babes
  • Swimmatix
  • Tiffany’s Swim School

STAr Swim Academy

  • Castle Point Leisure
  • Mid Devon District Council

STAr Not-for-Profit Community Campaign

  • Abingdon Swimming Club – Hayley Reynolds
  • Hue Help – Garry Seghers
  • Simplee Swim – Sarah Lee
  • SNAPS – Jo Milburn
  • The Green Shirt Project – Half Fish HQ
  • Triton Training

STAr Approved Training Centre – UK

  • ABC Training
  • CB Training
  • GLL
  • Half Fish HQ
  • In at the Deep End
  • Individuality Swimming
  • SJ Training Solutions

STAr Approved Training Centre – International

  • Aquababies Global
  • Play and Swim Taiwan
  • Swimmatix
  • Teacher Academy of Aquatics – China

STAr Member

  • Carleen Whipp – Virgin Active
  • Robbie Phillips
  • Sophie Etheridge – Adaptive Athlete

STAr Water Safety Educator

  • Adam Comfort – Adams Aquatics
  • Anna Roscoe – Embers Aquatics
  • Garry Seghers – Hue Help
  • Julie-Ann James – Aquababies Global
  • Lesley Wilde Griffiths – Fins Swim School
  • Liz Harby – Training Aquatic Courses
  • Steven Summers – Life Skills Management

Sponsored by Konfidence, the winners will be announced at a presentation evening taking place during an informal ceremony on Friday 13th October at STA’s national conference in Leicester, which will be jointly hosted by record breaking 4x Paralympic gold medallist swimmer Marc Woods and Ali Beckman, STA’s President – with support from Dave Candler, STA’s CEO and Mike Goody, STA’s water safety ambassador.

Dave Candler said: “We are really looking forward to hosting our first Aquatic Excellence Awards and welcoming all our members, partners, and conference delegates to celebrate all the great work that our sector is doing to make a difference in aquatics. All the entries we have received this year have been outstanding; we’ve read some exceptional stories and nominations, and I’d like to say a huge congratulations to all of our finalists and wish them good luck.”

Andrew Regan, Founder of Konfidence, said: “Konfidence is extremely proud to be sponsoring these inaugural awards, and it gives us the chance in our 25th anniversary year to show our support to STA and recognise all of the finalist’s incredible achievements – we look forward to congratulating each one at next month’s STA’s awards ceremony and conference.”

Please note: the STAr Swim Star School awards (UK and International) have been merged into the STAr Swim School Provider of the Year awards category, with separate STAr Swim School Provider awards now for UK and International swim schools.


Association News, Member News

Join Our Mailing List

Stay up-to-date with the latest STA and leisure industry news by subscribing to our mailing list!


Are you looking for a job in leisure or have a vacancy you want to advertise for FREE?